If you have been charged with reckless driving in Sussex County, Virginia, you may be delayed if you contact a Brighton County attorney to have your case reviewed. Like many traffic offences, reckless driving is not a pure traffic offence. It is an offence punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 or up to five years in prison. An experienced defence lawyer can help you judge the case honestly. A reckless charge could result in a civil penalty of $2,500 or more, or even a prison sentence of at least a year.
If you drive at a speed that puts your life or property in danger, you are acting recklessly. While the charge covers driving at speeds commonly considered reckless, it does not include driving in a manner that could cause death or serious injury to himself or others.
The requirement that there must be an accident or injury is not what is charged with the crime. In Sussex County, the risk alone meets the threshold for reckless driving. Accordingly, the penalty for subsequent conviction is a fine of up to $1,000 and a six-month prison sentence. A judge can also suspend your license for six months. A charge of “reckless driving” is classified as a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum of one year in prison and / or a $250 fine.
Moreover, a conviction would lead to higher insurance premiums, which are unlikely to decrease significantly over time. There are also separate administrative penalties for convicted drivers via the Federal Motor Transport Authority. Administrative penalties associated with a conviction for reckless driving after the first offence include a fine of up to $1,000 and the loss of a driving license held by the Department of Motor Vehicles, as well as a requirement that the conviction remain on the driver’s record for 11 years. A conviction for “reckless driving” appears to further impair a person’s ability to obtain and maintain safety permits, and could further impair the person’s ability to cheat or maintain a safety permit.
When a driver is accused of reckless driving, the Australian Criminal Law Reform Commission says it is necessary to defend yourself in the best possible way.
In the criminal justice system, there is no single approach – size – fit. To ensure that the defense is most likely to prevail, an experienced lawyer must review all the facts that are unique to your particular case. Driving at 81 miles per hour to get home from a child’s unexpected emergency or to be hospitalized for an emergency is a possible defense against reckless driving. There are several defences that may be available depending on the circumstances, even if they lead to no or “reckless driving.”
Further defensive measures may be the fact that the police did not follow the protocol before issuing the ticket or that the driver’s rights to due process were respected.
Many are unaware that reckless driving in Virginia is more serious than other negligent violations, and that their reactions do not always disprove what they should have been to limit the potential negative consequences. Virginia’s recklessness – driving tickets, even if not aggressively, can have a negative impact on life. Whatever the reasons for the charge, it is vital that we work towards the best possible outcome for those charged with reckless driving in Sussex County.